Things to expect in Mobile World Congress 2018 in Barcelona

This is something each and every smartphone enthusiasts are waiting. The world’s biggest mobile technology event will be happening this coming week. For those who does not know what MWC is, this is an event made exclusive for smartphone technology that is hosted in Barcelona every year (so far), what’s gonna happen is that this will be an avenue for top smartphone brands to launch their new flagship devices.

And as per The Verge, before we dive into the river of leaks that’s already preceded this year’s MWC, it’s worth noting the big highlight moments to look forward to:

Sunday, 8AM ET / 2PM Barcelona: Huawei press conference.

Sunday, 10AM ET / 4PM Barcelona: Nokia press conference.

Sunday, 12PM ET / 6PM Barcelona: Samsung Galaxy Unpacked 2018.

Monday, 2:15AM ET / 8:15AM Barcelona: Sony press conference.

Tuesday, 1:30PM ET / 7:30PM Barcelona

f you rely would want to know the details about the event especially for those like me who cannot go to Barcelona, theres a bunch of live stream links later on. I eill be sharing up some of them on the next blog post.

So here’s some of the biggest annoucement from the top smartphone brands we’ve all been looking forward to this 2018.

1. Samsung’s Galaxy S9 and S9 Plus

Photo: VentureBeat

The Galaxy S9 is the revolutionary flagship that will be launched at MWC. This serves as Samsung’s response to Apple’s iPhone X. I won’t touch much details about that but if you just noticed, these new flagship leaks have been circulating on the internet for few weeks now.

More of the Samsung Galaxy S9 on the next blog posts after this.

It has been said that the Xperia XZ2 is said to have an 5.8 inch screen and that Sony have finally ditched the bezels while the XZ2 Compact is said to have a 5-inch 1080p screen.

Nokia 8

Remembering what happened last year’s MWC, Where HMD “sort of” surprised the world with its Nokia 3310 comeback which seems like it did not ramp up that much. Looking forward for this flagship and we’ll sww what this device offers.

ASUS Zenfone 5

I was surprised when I saw leaks about this smartphone where it has one of Apple’s iPhone 10 feature – the Notch. More of this smartphone in the coming blog posts.

No Huawei, HTC, LG, and Motorola

Four big brands decided not to have their flagship smartphones launched for the MWC 2018 but they are gonna have their respective dates where they will be launching their new flagship smartphones. For Huawei, they are having an event late March for another top-tier smartphone. HTC will be talking more about their VR efforts and Motorola don’t release smartphones on February and LG will be having a big release this June and Motorola will most likely be announcing their mid-range Moto G series smartphone for MWC.

The headphone jack no more?

Based on the Samsung S9 leaks, we can tell that Samsung will be keeping its headphone jack but as what I have heard and read online, it seems like there are brands who will ditch their headphone jacks. As we all know, Huawei already ditched the headphone jack with their Huawei Mate 10 Pro last year together with the HTC, Google and Motorola and few more.

MWC 2018 will be exciting as it always does especially for smartphone enthusiasts like me.

What are your thoughts?

[IMAGE Source: The Verge]

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
avatar